Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index Pocket PC FAQ Forums
The place to discuss Windows Mobile, Pocket PCs, Smartphones, Handheld PCs, Windows CE and More!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Windows vista can't detect my O2 Xda Atom!!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Windows Mobile Device Center
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ym1nx
Pocketeer


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:01 am    Post subject: Windows vista can't detect my O2 Xda Atom!! Reply with quote

Hi

I've successfully installed Windows Mobile Device Center - the software was not automatically installed when I connected the mobile device to my laptop using USB. After the installation, I've tried several times to sync but to no avail. Windows Vista cannot detect my palm phone at all! There was no problem with sync the O2 with Windows XP, using activesync previously.

Any advice!?!? HELP!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Do you have a software firewall installed? You must allow WMDC to access TCP/IP in order to sync.

See http://www.pocketpcfaq.com/faqs/wmdc/index.htm
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ym1nx
Pocketeer


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Sorry I'm not exacty computer savvy. How do I check if the firewall I'm using is suitable for sync?
How do I check TCP/IP Ports?

Thanks alot!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Check the installed software in Start - Control Panel - Add/Remove Programs and see if there is a firewall or internet security application installed.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ym1nx
Pocketeer


Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Yes I do have norton security installed and had turned off the firewall. Still, there isn't any connectivity detected. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
With the device plugged in try going to the command prompt and enter "ROUTE PRINT" to see if the device is sending the IP address to your PC.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mrees
Pocketeer


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 12:12 am    Post subject: Vista WMDC can't connect to my XDA Atom Reply with quote

I have the same problem as ym1nx.

I have reinstalled WMDC as instructed, and when Vista tries to detect my Atom it reports an unidentified device but eventually claims to install a driver successfully. However WMDC fails to connect and just sits there showing No Connection.

Is there any sign of an XDA Atom driver?

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 8:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Vista WMDC can't connect to my XDA Atom Reply with quote

Hi,
The driver also interfaces with the services for Windows Mobile. So I would check and make sure that the Windows Mobile services are running.

Also, did you look at the ROUTE PRINT connection information?

mrees wrote:
I have the same problem as ym1nx.

I have reinstalled WMDC as instructed, and when Vista tries to detect my Atom it reports an unidentified device but eventually claims to install a driver successfully. However WMDC fails to connect and just sits there showing No Connection.

Is there any sign of an XDA Atom driver?

Michael

_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mrees
Pocketeer


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 9:20 pm    Post subject: More on XDA Atom can't connect Reply with quote

Yes I checked that the Windows Mobile-based device service is started.

The first few lines of my Route Print are:

Interface List
16 ...00 12 5a 58 45 ea ...... Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network) #2
14 ...00 02 b3 92 a8 c4 ...... Microsoft Windows Mobile Remote Adapter
11 ...7a 79 05 9d 83 96 ...... Hamachi Network Interface
9 ...00 19 d1 55 82 57 ...... Intel(R) 82566DC Gigabit Platform LAN Connect
...

So it appears it sees a Windows Mobile adapter, but still no connection.

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2007 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Route Print will show whether or not the connection of the device is being made. It will list the from and to on the IP addresses.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mrees
Pocketeer


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 8:59 pm    Post subject: Full Route Print table Reply with quote

Chris,

With my XDA Atom connected this is the full Route Print table:

===========================================================================
Interface List
16 ...00 12 5a 58 45 ea ...... Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network) #2
14 ...00 02 b3 92 a8 c4 ...... Microsoft Windows Mobile Remote Adapter
11 ...7a 79 05 9d 83 96 ...... Hamachi Network Interface
9 ...00 19 d1 55 82 57 ...... Intel(R) 82566DC Gigabit Platform LAN Connect
1 ........................... Software Loopback Interface 1
8 ...02 00 54 55 4e 01 ...... Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
20 ...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 isatap.{75260ABB-BD74-4CE6-8DD0-9DB790CEF2C2}
10 ...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 isatap.{23E55B6B-D0D3-4E8F-98DF-9C3A2B7CE50F}
21 ...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
17 ...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 isatap.{FE06AF83-5FC7-4352-B941-BA13DA13EF24}
25 ...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
===========================================================================

IPv4 Route Table
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 192.168.0.105 20
5.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 On-link 5.157.131.150 276
5.157.131.150 255.255.255.255 On-link 5.157.131.150 276
5.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 5.157.131.150 276
127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
127.0.0.1 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
127.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
169.254.2.0 255.255.255.0 On-link 169.254.2.2 286
169.254.2.2 255.255.255.255 On-link 169.254.2.2 286
169.254.2.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 169.254.2.2 286
192.168.0.0 255.255.255.0 On-link 192.168.0.105 276
192.168.0.105 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.0.105 276
192.168.0.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.0.105 276
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 5.157.131.150 276
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 192.168.0.105 276
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 169.254.2.2 286
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 5.157.131.150 276
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.0.105 276
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 169.254.2.2 286
===========================================================================

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
You have the Hamachi VPN installed. It may be preventing all other connections from working. Is it configured to allow you to access the internet while the VPN is active? (it could be called routed tunnelling)

Also, from the list the PC is able to use DHCP via USB to setup the TCP/IP connection from the Windows Mobile device to the PC.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mrees
Pocketeer


Joined: 01 May 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 8:57 pm    Post subject: XDA Atom Now Connects Reply with quote

Chris,

I tried removing Hamachi but it made no difference.

I eventually found the WMDC troubleshooting page at http://www.microsoft.com/windowsmobile/devicecenter/troubleshooting.mspx

I am running Windows OneCare and when I followed the instructions on the above page to open port 5721 in the Windows OncCare Firewall settings and removed the drivers I was able to connect my Atom. Bliss!

Thanks for spending time on this to help.

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anastasia74
Pocketeer


Joined: 09 Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Chris,

I'm hoping you can help me too - I also have an ATOM Exec and WMDC is not recognising it. It fails to find the device driver.

This is my Route Print output:



Any idea how I can fix this?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
You both have Teredo installed. Try uninstalling it and then see if it works.

There have been known issues with some VPN clients.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Windows Mobile Device Center All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Copyright 2001-2010, Chris De Herrera, All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group